Home Is Where Happy Memories Grow

I still remember that day even after 25 years have gone by like a day dream. I was a Sophomore in High School and was on my bike on the way home after school soccer practice. I heard the engine roaring from behind as if it tried to gain sudden acceleration. It was a half-ton truck, and someone from the truck shouted, “Go home!” Up to that moment it was okay because, after all, that was where I was going, and obviously they didn’t know that. 🙂 And then in a split second I felt some liquid on my face. Apparently someone threw water at me. Why would they throw water at a little kid on a bike? Why?

Discrimination and racism do exist in this country. Last week I wrote a blog called, “I am an American.” A damn proud one, I must add! I can say this because I know what it is like to live outside of this great nation. Discrimination and racism do exist in every country of the world, but no country embraces differences like America. No other country protects its people and their rights and freedoms like America does, even it means to protect the right to hate. This is what makes America the greatest country in the world. We do have some morons who choose to exercise their right to hate someone, but again, it’s their problem not mine.

immigration_protest_jef_130523_wblog
Image credit: Joe Klamar/AFP/Getty Images

I’m referring to those people who choose to turn their back from the majority and decide to build their nests high above the ground. I am referring to those people who build a community based on their own likeness, skin colors, and ethnicities.  They lobby our Congress and threaten them with recall if their actions don’t meet their demand. The demand basically is to favor certain types of race and ethnicities. They want to build a higher wall around their community so no other communities can invade their right as an American. Ironically though, how can a law favor one race over another? Wouldn’t that be discrimination itself?

How about focusing on our local community instead? Instead of blocking off miles of streets and marching through streets full of merchants, who are apparently our fellow Americans struggling to make life out of a series of deep economic recessions, why don’t we focus on changing our neighborhood and a local community first?

There are so many ways to change people’s perspective on minorities. If you think you’re unseen to the rest of the world because of your skin color and weird accent, then you better step up to make a more precise approach on changing people’s perspective. Be more active and try harder. Find ways to support your local community. Make yourself available when your local community needs volunteers. Don’t be ashamed to call yourself an American. Show your patriotism by flying the American flag. Be kind to your neighbor. Be involved with your kids’ school. Cast yourself out of the victim mentality and start demanding your life instead of demanding your right. How about that for a change? Soon you will be surrounded with people who care. You won’t be a minority anymore.

July 4th Spectacular

wpid-0704141717a.jpg
You gotta display US flag on your Jeep on this day! Or any other day! It’s a Jeep thing they say! 🙂

Last year my family and I celebrated Independence Day at a camping site in Ojai, Ca, with a family friend. This year I wanted to stay local. I couldn’t think of any better day to spend quality family time with a local community to celebrate the birth of America. I think from now on this will be our new family tradition. Our town doesn’t have a cool Jeep parade, but our local venues offer plenty of family fun.

I wanted to be part of that because it gives me a sense of belonging. I belong to this community and no one will deny my right. I don’t have to scream to be noticed because I’m just one of 55,000 residents in this community. This community will be my home for many years and will be my kids’ hometown. I want my kids to have the same sense of belonging, so that when they grow up, and wherever they might be, they can have a place to call home. I’m not going to be around forever, you know?

I invited my brother’s family and headed to the “July 4th Spectacular” fireworks show in a neighboring city. I dressed my kids up with new Red, White, and Blue JWK shirts, and this day couldn’t be more special!

I must say I watched the fireworks show through the lens of my camera the whole time. I was busy messing with it in an effort to capture the best moment. I thought I mastered night photography and it came out okay with my Canon Powershot SX20is I bought for $300 a few years ago. I feel like I’m finally getting my money’s worth. 🙂

This will be it: our new tradition. Unlike some of you who already have traditions passed down from your great great forefathers, I get to create one. Everything I start will be a new one, and hopefully my kids will continue to keep the good tradition going for many generation to follow. God bless us. God bless America.

home is 1
Image credit ButtonNButterflies

 

2 thoughts on “Home Is Where Happy Memories Grow

  1. Excellent post, Jesse! You know, people of all races, sizes and colors experience hate or discrimination of some sort. I grew up with red hair and was tormented and bullied constantly when I grew up. I was called some pretty horrific names growing up like “red-headed N….word”. I was told “I’d rather be dead than have red on my head” and lots of other awful things. I didn’t let it beat me down. Instead I became more of a fighter. I became stronger. Now I have a daughter who is 26 years old but she is a very small person – barely 5 ft tall and maybe 90 lbs. She gets discriminated against because of her size and people say awful things to her or make derogatory comments to her. What they don’t realize is that she is a little firecracker and will give it right back! We would all be a lot better off if we could treat one another with more gentleness, patience, acceptance and understanding. And by the way, I think you and your family are AWESOME and the U.S. needs more people like you!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

